Onward and Upward!

Thirty-nine years ago today I asked my good friend to marry me.

I won’t keep you in suspense.

She said, “Yes!”  (As I recall, the answer did come with a “!”.)

No doubt, our life together has not always been easy, but we thank the Lord and our family and friends that have loved and blessed us along the way.  I am blessed to have her in my life.

Sam and family made it back home to Colorado without incident following the holidays. Evie and Max left chalk memories behind.

Max's likeness of Tia Sarah's house, left on our front porch.

Max’s likeness of Tia Sarah’s house, left on our front porch.

Evie drew our house with her standing beside it.

Evie drew our house with her standing beside it.

The rain will erase these someday and leave us with only these photos and memories.

Upcoming chores as weather permits will be yard cleanup,

I have four gum trees and this past year they produced a bumper crop of gumballs.

I have four gum trees and this past year they produced a bumper crop of gumballs.

keeping the bird feeders stocked,

I mainly put out black oil sunflower seeds.

I mainly put out black oil sunflower seeds.

and cleaning up the back yard from recent visitors.

Time to clean the yard

Where to start?

I wanted to get out and ride a bit on the first morning of the new year.  Jan was going to go for a long walk but decided to go with me in the end.

The first of what I trust will be many rides.

The first of what I trust will be many rides.

We stopped by the home of our friends, Obie and Marie.  They are completely redoing the interior of their home and it is looking wonderful.  Lunch with Sam and Linda rounded out the day.  Back to work tomorrow; back to the commute.

Stay happy and a Happy New Year to all of you!

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Onward and Upward!

  1. Gerry says:

    Happy Anniversary, you two! Hope you have many more miles of pedaling together!

    • Ron Hoover says:

      Thanks, Gerry. Jan has been talking about doing some climbs this year, but I am trying to steer her more toward the ‘route before the climb’ type of ride. We shall see.

  2. tootlepedal says:

    Clever to get a photo of both you on your ride. That where to start question is one that is very familiar to me. It is so hard to answer that I often have to sit down and think about it.

  3. Ron Hoover says:

    I like the thinking part. However, when my daughter’s dogs pay us a visit I don’t have to think too long.

Leave a Reply

