Thoughts

I try not to think too hard, especially while riding.  Yet cycling gives me good time to reflect.

–Why don’t those people pick the pears from off of their tree?  Would they let me?

–That runner is going at a good clip.

–That dog looked intent.  No barking.  Good thing the owner was out and called it back.

–There goes the odometer again.  I gotta get it fixed.*

–I see a lot more broken glass on the streets downtown.  New Year’s Eve celebrations must have been big.

–If Lance tells us all that he really did dope, he may find the American public forgiving.

–This sore throat will drive me to drive.

*I got on the Cateye website and found that at temps below 32°F, the cycle computer can malfunction since the cold affects both the battery and the LED display.

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thoughts

  1. Steve A says:

    Cycling gives me lots of time to think, too. Mostly, however, those thoughts drain out nearly as quickly as they come in. My own odometer has been broken for over a year…

    • rlhoover says:

      I’m not ready to completely trash the odometer, but I am not going to obsess about it either, at least I hope so. I just want to be able to get out when I can and see the countryside without checking the numbers.

  2. You inspired me to go pick and eat a grapefruit off my tree for breakfast, without additional thought. A treeful of unpicked ripe sweet fruit is indeed a puzzle.

  3. Bill Lambert says:

    Do you ever have the thought, “I wonder if that dog is going to bite me?” I think that quite often.

    • rlhoover says:

      Bill! It’s a delight to hear from you! Hope your Christmas went well and the new year is treating you with respect!

      I have never had a dog bite me (while on the bike, that is). I try to turn them into Methodists (baptism by sprinkling) before they get too close. I yell at them, too.

Leave a Reply

