Here we go again

Broken

Half way home when I heard it go.

Time to get the wheel rebuilt or get rid of more weight.

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Here we go again

  1. tootlepedal says:

    Or both….or only pedal on nice warm days.

  2. Bill Lambert says:

    Broken spokes are a bummer.
    Since your broken spoke is from the hub’s non-drive side, my guess is weight isn’t the issue. Maybe the result of inconsistent tension between the spokes. Anyway, it should be a quick and easy fix.

    • rlhoover says:

      Quick and easy, yes. I should be back out there soon. Jan always offers me her hybrid, but I have not taken her up on it. If need be I will use the roadie to get to work.

  3. Two words…Fiber-Fix Emergency Spoke (well, OK, that’s three words or maybe four). And spare spokes that fit. A spoke change on the non-drive side can be done on the road fairly easily with a spoke wrench and tire-change stuff.

    Of course you could just ride on warm days. :)

    • rlhoover says:

      Fixing a spoke! That’s getting Out There for me. I am more of the “Dang!-another-spoke.-I’d-better-take-it-to-the-shop.” type. But I Will look into the FFES that you mention. But now I need a spoke wrench…. Life can get complicated on two wheels.

  4. Matt Gholson says:

    Some of my mountain bike friends have been known to ride weeks with a broken spoke or two, just make slight adjustments to the surrounding spokes to get the wheel semi true, not too big of a deal when you have disc brakes.

    I broke 3 back spokes when a stuck got in my wheel at the begining of a ride. Did some creative spoke adjustment and finished the ride with no problems.

Leave a Reply

