View from the saddle – March 27, 2013

Fellow rider Tracy Wilkins recently wrote how the winter cycling season can be filled with the same events.  The daily commute can be a bit of a bore without any way to really change things up.

However, we did have a good change recently as Sam and Fam came for a long weekend visit from Colorado Springs.  Having the grandchildren around is always a treat.  Sam had bought a new shirt so we struck a pose.

ADSCN6905

They had brought Colorado snow with them.  We only got outside once the whole visit and that was to throw snowballs, something I had not done for years.  I got the Steed out and proved to myself that I could [if I needed to] do the snow for a bit.

A rare event

A rare event

But, back to Tracy and his comments.  I agreed with him and was going to say so in my next blog when lo and behold, we happened to meet up on the commute home this afternoon.

A welcome sight

A welcome sight

I had needed to stay late at work and was heading south on Jefferson, about 90 minutes later than usual.  We joined up across the street from the Central Branch Library.  Now, Tracy is always in good physical condition and I knew that his Cruise is my Time To Come Out Of The Saddle.  So, I told him up front I probably would not keep up with him on the trip home, but that nevertheless it was good to see him and congratulations on the upcoming Grandparenthood.

A block later we hit a red light and as we waited I made a Major Life Decision and told Tracy that I would in fact try to stay up.  This purely utilitarian choice was based on the fact that Two cyclists in yellow jackets are easier to see and respect than One yellow-jacketed cyclist [possibly a new cycling team logo??].  He agreed and off we went, he slacking off a bit and I pushing it a bit.

One of the few times I got in front

One of the few times I got in front

He let me take the lead in picking the route and traffic showed us some respect and gave wide berths when passing.  It was easy to ride with him and we took the lane when the situation called for it.  We got caught up on each other’s lives and felt the warm temps on our backs and the cool breeze in our faces.

Drafting off of one of Springfield's Best

Drafting off of one of Springfield’s Best

Tracy told me that he wanted to do as many hills as he could find between his home and work.  Something clicked in me and I knew that someday, I would have to do Farm Road 193 again.

Thanks for the ride, Tracy!

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to View from the saddle – March 27, 2013

  1. Jim says:

    I was on 193 this morning and it told me it had been trying to get in touch with you!

  2. tootlepedal says:

    Excellent shirt posing.

Leave a Reply

