Full day

Saturday was a full one for us, make no mistake about it.

First up was the Missouri Christian County Master Gardener Plant Sale.

Held on the Ozark Technical College campus in Christian County.

Held on the Ozark Technical College campus in Christian County.

The sale was twice as big as last year and had outdoor garden decor in addition to plants.

The hanging logs on the right have nut butter filled holes, mixed with bird seed.  I think I can make some of those on my own.

The hanging logs on the right have nut butter filled holes, mixed with bird seed. I think I can make some of those on my own.

As things stared to wind down, I took advantage of the hike/bike trail around the perimeter of the campus for a short walk.

Image009

A 'rabbit run' through the grass.

A ‘rabbit run’ through the grass.

Quite a peaceful setting. We will have to bring our bikes down for a Saturday ride.

Quite a peaceful setting. We will have to bring our bikes down for a Saturday ride.

I didn't want to stay out too long so I left the trail and cut through the brush and this gully to return to the parking lot. A minor adventure with minimal dirt on the clothes.

I didn’t want to stay out too long so I left the trail and cut through the brush and this gully to return to the parking lot. A minor adventure with minimal dirt on the clothes.

Back at the sale I found Jan helping to broom out the building.  I found another broom to join her.  We were mostly done when my broom wouldn’t work anymore.  So I quit. I saw someone else using it later.  They must have fixed it.

Image007

After lunch the next item on the agenda was marking a course for a ride this Saturday.  I wrote about a previous ride here.

100_1241

We saw John out on his red Specialized.  It was nice and bright and  He said he had cleaned it up for the new season.  No, I didn’t think of getting his picture.

Following the route marking we got out on our own for a local city ride.

We passed by the north trailhead of the Galloway Trail.

We passed by the north trailhead of the Galloway Trail.

I liked the paint job on these two homes.

We are not going uphill, I just can't hold a camera level.

We are not going uphill, I just can’t hold a camera level.

Image017

We sometimes feel we are riding through St. Louis close to Forrest Park when we go through this part of Springfield.

Image020

A final tribute to Jim, Jamie and Collin in completing the OGRE 150 on Saturday.

I don't have a pic of Collin and I don't know who took this one, but congrats to all three!

I don’t have a pic of Collin and I don’t know who took this FB photo, but congrats to all three!

 Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

