Work and Play

I have had this looking at me for a few days.  The pic quality is not good, but that is a fence post in a bigger than average concrete ball.

Image005

I seemed to hear it taunting me, “You got me this far, now what will you do?”  I talked with a couple of fellows at work and they both suggested taking a maul to it.  One of them said, “Eight or nine blows ought to do it.”

Well, I got the maul out and it took more than eight or nine whacks.  But eventually, after hitting the sweet spot about ten times, it slowly started to come apart.  I was very thankful that this is what it looks like now.

DSCN7016

On the Play side of the weekend, Jan and I were able to get out to Strafford for a real good ride.  She had undergone another bike fit with Sheryl, her spin instructor, and the results were like night and day.

Again, she drops me on the hill....

Again, she drops me on the hill….

Our turning point was at Mickey Dees where we saw someone else out for the morning.

Image008

The radiator cap reminded me of some fountain in Europe [Belgium?]

Image009

When out on these rides, we take it easy.  This freedom on two wheels lets us stop to take care of local wildlife.  This turtle is the third one this season to be assisted across the road.

peek-a-boo

peek-a-boo

The blossoms were just starting to fall on this bridal spirea.

Image05

We ended up with thirty miles and Jan now feels like a new person in the bike.

The final bit of play on Saturday was at Ken’s daughter’s high school graduation party at their home south of Rogersville.  They live next to the Finley River and Ken and his brothers and friends love four-wheeling.

Image017

Ken took Jan for a spin and she enjoyed going across the fields at 50+ mph.

They went 'down to the river to pray [!]', but it was too deep, so back up the hill they came.

They went ‘down to the river to pray [!]‘, but it was too deep, so back up the hill they came.

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Work and Play

  1. tootlepedal says:

    Bike fitting is a really good idea. The bridal spirea is sensational.

  2. Matt Gholson says:

    I’m skeptical on bike fitting. One guy I’ve talked to have went through a bike fit and had their saddle lowered about 2mm and their handlebar raised by 2.5mm shim he changed it back a couple weeks later. But that is only one person and he rides alot and probably had his fit pretty good to begin with.

    I think bike fitting is probably a real good idea for a newer riders who haven’t put in all the miles and tinkered to figured out what’s uncomfortable and why.

    Love the pictures by the way, especially the old car. Thanks!

    • rlhoover says:

      Glad you liked the car, Matt. I was happy to see it myself. I had a ‘rough fit’ when I got my road bike and have done well ever since. But, I do realize that after a few years, my [older!] bod has changed and I am STILL trying to learn how to sit on the saddle correctly.

Leave a Reply

