Father’s Day

I remember a trip to Spokane, Washington, in the middle 1960s where my aunt introduced us to one of the two ladies that were instrumental in creating Father’s Day.  My brush with history.

I recognition of this day I present an album of some of the fathers important to my own life.

My paternal grandfather and his father-in-law, my great-grandfather.  Carlos Gomez and Willis Hoover, picture taken in Chile about 1910 or so.  They both were pastors in the Methodist-Pentecostal Church.

My paternal grandfather and his father-in-law, my great-grandfather. Carlos Gomez and Willis Hoover, picture taken in Chile about 1910 or so. They both were pastors in the Methodist-Pentecostal Church.

My father, Mario Lucio Gomez Hoover and I.  When my dad came to this country in 1944, he decided to keep his North American name last (his mother came from Illinois) and thereby give his children North American names.

My father, Mario Lucio Gomez Hoover and I. When my dad came to this country in 1944, he decided to keep his North American name last (his mother came from Illinois) and thereby give his children North American names. This picture is a couple of years old.

Our son Sam and his grandfather, taken a few years ago in Florida.

Our son Sam and his grandfather, taken a few years ago in Florida.

Missouri and Colorado Hoovs. Ron, Sarah, Evie, Sam, Jan, Katie, and Max.

Missouri and Colorado Hoovs. Ron, Sarah, Evie, Sam, Jan, Katie, and Max.

There you have it, pictures of six generations of the Hoover/Gomez line.

I have said elsewhere, it matters how you live your life and it matters to your descendants.

Whether you have children or not, if you are a man and have influenced someone else for good, then  I include you in my greetings.

Happy Father’s Day.

Hang in there,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Ozarks, springfield missouri. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Father’s Day

  1. tootlepedal says:

    Thank you for your greeting. I am hanging in.

Leave a Reply

