The Fourth

Independence Day was a good day to ride.  We headed out toward Strafford, always checking the road ahead for trouble.

North on Packer Rd. and then east on Kearney [the old Route 66]

North on Packer Rd. and then east on Kearney [the old Route 66]

Traffic was light;  a perfect day for getting out on two wheels.

DSCN7160

In recognition of a blog buddy from southern Illinois, Barn Door, I proudly display this found treasure.

Road swag.  Jan just shakes her head....

Road swag. Jan just shakes her head….

At the intersection of OO and 125 we found the State Highway Department had improved things a bit by adding a turn lane.

DSCN7162

At the Strafford High School was this group of motorcyclists getting ready for the Fourth of July parade.

I told them we would be unable to keep up with them!

I told them we would be unable to keep up with them!

The fellow in neon green [I can’t say ‘leather vest’ – they All had leather vests] said that last year the group was placed behind some children on tricycles and two of the bikers burned their clutch out by going so slow.

At the local gas station/pit stop we ran into Elvin, a former fellow employee of mine.  He was out hoping to get 60-70 miles in.  He was headed south to Rogersville.

DSCN7166

His helmet looks strange since that is a tractor wheel in the background.

In the background of the above picture you will see one of the cars that was bound for the parade.  Love those whitewalls!

DSCN7165

On the other side of the pump were three beauties that let me take their picture.

Jan asked the lady in the red top how far she got on a full tank.  She replied "Two trips, down and back, to Branson along with running around home."

Jan asked the lady in the red top how far she got on a full tank. She replied “Two trips, down and back, to Branson along with running around home.”

We had to stop on Packer Rd. for this train.  No, we did not try to beat it.

We had to stop on Packer Rd. for this train. No, we did not try to beat it.

The wild flowers are out in force, and one of my favorites is the orange Indian Paintbrush.

The wild flowers are out in force, and one of my favorites is the orange Indian Paintbrush.

Stay Happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Fourth

  1. tootlepedal says:

    A ride full of interest and devoid of cars must be counted an excellent ride.

  2. Steve says:

    A very enjoyable holiday! I am jealous over your road swag. I’ve never found anything close to that quality on the roads I travel. I suspect you will be able to keep up with those motorcyclists in a few more years when your superior health from cycling gives you an advantage!

    • rlhoover says:

      I remember finding a five pound hammer once. I dropped it three times before I got home with it! I am afraid I am on the downward slope of speed. The bikers will drop me in the dust without fail.

  3. Matt Gholson says:

    Yeah that is a sweet find. You should hit up the road again for more swag action.

    Nice pictures too.

Leave a Reply

