One bottle

I found myself with some time on my hands Saturday morning.  Jan had gone to a gardening seminar and my primary chores were all done, so I set out for Strafford.  I only took one bottle of water and knew I could refill it while there.

The day promised to be warm, but there was a good breeze out of the east to provide a constant cooling.

Image012

A few years back there was a house here along Farm Road 199.  It was taken down and now even the land along the road has been bulldozed and cleared for some reason.

Cleared land

Cleared land

I took a pit stop at the Strafford Library and also stopped at the convenience store to get a small bite to eat.  At this point I remembered the Strafford Senior Center on the south side of the tracks.  I decided to go there for water since I did not want to delay getting back to my un-locked bike.  I know Strafford is a small town and nothing would probably happen to it, but after all, that bike is the only way home for me!

Well, as you would suspect, the Senior Center was not open.  Now, I drink a lot on rides.  I usually would have brought two bottles with me and not even thought about stopping.  In fact, most of our riding friends would have thought to just turned around and go back for a refill, but not this Fool of a Writer!  I kept going and never thought of going back.  I had a little over a half a bottle left and figured I would make it last.

A pull on the bottle and south of Strafford I caught up with Anne and Burl.

Image016

These friendly folks live in Springfield and by their confession are out a few times a week to get breakfast at this place or that.  They have been riding for years and their kits don’t look bad at all.

We parted company and I headed on home, stopping at Jones Spring before a final climb up Catalpa.  Yes, all that water made me thirsty.

Image017

At the top of the Catalpa climb I met a solitary rider who asked me how to get to Nixa! When he mentioned the Queen City Century Route I directed downtown to Springfield Brewing Company and figured he could get home from there!

I finished all the water in my bottle as I approach home.  Next time – Two Bottles!

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One bottle

  1. tootlepedal says:

    You live and learn.

Leave a Reply

