Change of season 2

My first blog post from November 2010 was titled Change of season.

I had been reading some cycling blogs [specifically SpringfieldCyclist] and thought to myself, “I could write something like that.”  I asked my son how to go about it and he helped me get started.

That first effort reflected on the cold weather that had arrived.  In a way, I had also entered a new season in my life as a blogger.  I started viewing people and places in a new light;  was this person or that event something I could write about?  The view from a saddle presents the world from a different perspective.

I searched out more cycling blogs and think it safe to say if you, dear reader, are not family or a long time friend, then you are one of my good blogging friends.

But of late, I sense a change.  A change of season.

I am setting aside Two Feet for now.

I will still continue the commute.  Jan and I will still get out there when we can (she and I have thought about running once more – one must stay active).

I will also continue to follow and enjoy my fellow blogger’s adventures whether they be rides like Haute Route, CRMBT, mountain bike trails in the Appalachians, the Cheviot Hills of Great Britain, or pictures of Civil War historical markers, backyard birds, road swag and Mt. Ventoux.

Bring it all on.

So friends, keep your tires aired up, your batteries charged and stay on the path.  I will still be there, as a rider over the hill or around the curve, unseen, but still cranking away!

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Change of season 2

  1. tootlepedal says:

    I shall miss your posts.

    • rlhoover says:

      Thank you, Tom, you are kind to say so. I may write something on occasion, but probably not for while. I will be following your adventures on Garmin and viewing your local bird population on the blog. Regards.

      • tootlepedal says:

        I have been impressed by your steady pedalling.

        • rlhoover says:

          I think I have finally come to the place where I am seeing myself as a cycle commuter. That said, I still avoid severe rain, all ice and snow. Jan and I have yet to take the step where we use the bike for all or most trips, but maybe that day will come. We have both admitted that we could make it with only one vehicle [a First World Problem if I ever saw one!] and I am always content to be in the saddle.

  2. Elva M Hoover says:

    Congratulations, Ron, for starting something new! Everyone needs to do something different once in a while. More later. Love you, Mom

  3. Steve A says:

    Actually, aren’t we just a little over a week away from the OFFICIAL change of season? I’ll continue to periodically check by in case you get inspired again.

  4. Deacon Rick says:

    As the non-cycling older brother who hasn’t been back to Springfield in ten years, I always enjoyed your pictures from the old home town. What will you do now to keep me entertained?

Leave a Reply

