Thanksgiving 2013

Sam and Fam came to the Ozarks for the recent holiday.  We did many things and had a good time.  A few pictures will suffice.

We all got to join in putting the Christmas Tree up.

We all got to join in putting the Christmas Tree up.

Jan and the children planted miniature hollyhocks in the back yard.

The garden, as such, was gone, but the children loved planting the flowers and wondered if they would sprout before they left for home.

The garden, as such, was gone, but the children loved planting the flowers and wondered if they would sprout before they left for home.

I was able to sag one of Sam’s runs.  This was a first for me and I gave my effort a B-.

Sam ran while I rode my bike along with him.  We went to a local park where we met up with the rest of the family.

Sam ran while I rode my bike along with him. We went to a local park where we met up with the rest of the family.

Sam’s running has been good for him.  He has already done a half marathon and a Spartan Run in Colorado Springs.  He plans on doing both again next year.

The Dan Kinney Park on Blackman Road is a favorite place for us.

The Dan Kinney Park on Blackman Road is a favorite place for us.

I did some reflection on this holiday and came up with a couple of thoughts.

The act of thanksgiving has two inherent ideas.  I am thankful [1] to someone or [2] for something.

Therefore, I end by saying I am thankful to God [and being Christian I further refine this thought by being thankful to Jesus Christ] for the blessings and good people and things in my life.

As for the bad, I will read Job.

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Colorado Springs, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thanksgiving 2013

  1. tootlepedal says:

    Always a fun read is the book of Job.

  2. Gerry says:

    It looks like you were just about to run Sam over. I’m glad that wasn’t the case.

    • rlhoover says:

      It was a different experience to ride with a runner. After a while it occured to me that I might be able to ‘scout’ the route and warn him of possible trip hazards. I also loved handing over the bidon on occasion for a drink. Have a blessed holiday season, Gerry.

Leave a Reply

