Facing Forward

I give a belated New Year’s greeting to my good readers.

Before turning to 2014 I take a short look back on 2013.

*******

With my dear Jan’s help and encouragement I was able to do a respectable 2700+ miles on the bike, most of them on the Steed, my city/trail bike.  I had no accidents this year for which I am thankful.

Last fall I had a bike fit with my road bike.  I had purchased a new saddle and thought it best to follow up with a professional fit.  Both the fit and saddle have worked out great.

Friends in England and elsewhere will be pleased to learn that I kept the Sock Drawer neat and tidy ALL YEAR.  My dear Jan might contest this interpretation, but I consider any pair of socks that has been rolled together as shipshape.

Other goals such as not stepping in dog poop or expanding the garden were met with ease.

2013 ended with a bang as our third grandchild, Cora Jayne Hoover, was born December 27.  She is adorable and we plan on seeing her and her siblings, Evie and Max, soon.

*******

2014 has brought plenty of snow which limits the commute, but snow melts after a time and cycling resumes.

I would like to get more road miles in this year and also more rail/trail miles.  Perhaps this will be the year Jan and I do [part of] the KATY.

For my birthday I asked for and received a pair of running shoes.  Cross training looms but I am not the long distance type when it comes to slapping the tarmac.  Two or three miles is reasonable.  Any advice from cycling/running friends is welcome.

The year still feels new to me.  I pray the best for all of you.

Stay happy,

twofeet

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, Ozarks, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Facing Forward

  1. Steve A says:

    If you aren’t stepping in dog poop, you need more dogs at your house. Just sayin’.

  2. tootlepedal says:

    Run on grass. Unless you are under 140 lbs running on tarmac is bad for you. Start off with some short sprints on your toes after you are warmed up. If you don’t do this, you get into the habit of plodding which is not good fun and not good for the joints. Short quality is better than long lumpy. I knew an international miler who only trained 30 miles a week but all his miles were of the best quality. You did ask.

    Keep your socks neat, have a great 2014 and may you meet all your goals, even the ones which you are keeping secret.

  3. Gerry says:

    If you have the same ‘dog poop’ resolution this year, I would like to put out a challenge: come visit me in the south of France and see how long your resolution lasts! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

