Play and work

Saturday morning I had another wonderful opportunity to ride with my son.  My wife elected to do her exercise by walking, so she did not join us.  He showed up and said that he would like to take the South Creek Trail over to Nathanael Greene Park.  Getting out the hybrids and checking the tires did not take long.  We were soon on our way.

At the park, we stopped to see the Butterfly House.  This is a wonderful addition to the Springfield Park system.  Dr. Rosten and others have done exemplary work.  I highly recommend seeing it.  Bring the kids.  The younger ones will love it!

At you can tell, the doors are off and the inmates have escaped.  We understood them all to have been severe flight risks.

The two Greene county groups, Friends of the Garden and the Master Gardeners have put all the beds to sleep for the winter.

We saw some new playground equipment, something to remember when it comes to kids or grandkids.

We also found a persimmon tree full of ripe fruit.  What fun!!

We enjoyed the time and miles together and he went on home afterward.

Following lunch, my wife and I headed out again on the bikes.  I needed to check some things at work and on the way home we took the Jordan Valley Park trail east of Jefferson.  We noticed the red and green lights in celebration of Christmas.

We will need to return some evening with the grandkids so that they can enjoy the lights and help us old folks get excited again about the season.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

