Table Rock

Instead of riding Sunday afternoon, we went down to Table Rock Lake to visit with a friend of ours.  She lives on the south shore of the lake and since we have not visited at her home that often, I was not too sure how to get there (or how to get out as it happened).  Her road is paved, but she lives out in a semi-wild area.  However, she and her late husband did bring a semblance of civilization to their place.

My wife enjoying the silver leaf maple at the front door

The two story home has a wonderful view from the deck.

How is this for a wake-up view in the morning?

It was night time when we took our leave.  I thought I was headed in the right direction out to the highway, but I took two wrong turns and we ended up going over Table Rock Dam, almost ending up at the entrance to Silver Dollar City.  From there I knew the way home and hurried on without delay.  One more positive note, our hostess gave us a recipe for stuffed pumpkin from the cookbook Around My French Table by Done Greenspan

Clean out pumpkin of seeds and stringy stuff

1/4 cup bread crumbs or rice
1/4 cup Gruyère cheese
2 pieces garlic chopped
4 strips bacon cooked, drained, and chopped
nutmeg, salt, pepper, thyme
1/3 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup chives or sliced scallions

You may add pecans, apples, or pears.  just whatever suits your taste

Bake 2 hours 350 place pumpkin in roast pan with a little water in bottom to steam

I will let you know how it tastes.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Table Rock

  1. Pingback: Wind and Cold | Two Feet Off the Asphalt

Leave a Reply

