A Day to be thankful

Thanksgiving was truly a good day with family and food and a heart of thanks to God for the blessings that He has bestowed upon us.

The day started early (and cold) for us.  I had to drive downtown on an errand for a neighbor and while returning home got to see many of the runners on the Turkey Trot 5K down at Jordan Valley Park.  The rain had started by that time, but the run was already finished. I guess I am a bit strange.  I don’t mind riding in the cold (my water bottle started to freeze on one occasion), but I DO NOT want to walk or run in such weather!

Around mid-morning our family arrived and we had an excellent brunch, fixed by my most capable wife.  Thanks much, sweetheart!!

In spite of the inclement weather, freezing rain and all, we had a good group of birds at the feeders and on the ground.

Freezing rain on the clothesline

Junco and sparrow

Junco

I went out to the shed and got closer to the feeders, peeking around from behind a door while getting the next two pics.

From these pics, one can see that I will need to rake leaves as my next domestic duty.

Following the grandchildren’s naps (and no, I did not take one myself…) we had our main Thanksgiving meal.  All the ladies of the family provided the components and all the men were sure happy about it.  Following the main meal we took a break before dessert.  All the adults, except for the writer played Phase 10.  I was blessed to be able to sit with the grandchildren and watch Disney’s Winnie the Pooh.  Max and Evie sat on my lap for over an hour watching the various adventures of the members of the Hundred Acre Woods.  It was a good time to quiet down, enjoy their company and

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

