The Question

Last night:

“So, are you riding tomorrow?”

My wife had just uttered the unuttered question of the evening.  She is good at that.  We had just finished watching the weatherman’s report forecasting a low of 19 degrees by morning.  

“I don’t know.  I will have to think on it.”

A little history might be in order.  This is only my third year for cycling.  My Bianchi hybrid does not have fenders on it (yet), but I do have a rear rack for a bag, front and back lights and I am thinking of getting panniers.  I avoid the rain and snow when I commute.  But cold is something different.  I have ridden in sub-freezing temps, but not to work.

This is what winter commuting feels like.

Of course, I don’t carry a gun.  I determined that, yes, I would ride next morning.

This is not me either, but it is getting close....

The ride in was not as bad as I expected.  With a morning temp of 23 (wind chill about 10-15), the headwind out of the west was constant, but bearable.  It will be good to have a tailwind on the way home.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

