Winter harvest and other events

Saturday was the day for the grandchildren to come over and enjoy a Cookie Party.  Jan had bought some cut-n-bake sugar and peanut butter cookies, icing and candy sprinkles, all to be consumed with much laughter and delight.

Lunch is to be pasta (I do not think that I can spell that ‘spaghetti’ (!?) word, so I always stick with ‘pasta’) so Jan had me to go out to the remains of the garden and get the last of the oregano and rosemary before the snow fell.

Final Harvest

She put them in the dehydrator and they will be enjoyed through the winter months.

After that and before the children showed up I took a short spin around the neighborhood. A strong west wind kept the excursion down to a couple of miles and my ears down to fourteen degrees….

Sam brought Evie and Max and went on to do some work.  We watched a bit of Winnie the Pooh and then had lunch and started on the cookies.

Ron and Max checkin' out The Goods

Evie making The Goods look gooder...

The wind skated out of the north all Saturday night into Sunday morning.  The snow arrived and was quite pretty as it blew across the streets.  Jan and I mentioned that were it not for the wind and snow, today would have been a wonderful day for a trip out to Ash Grove or Strafford.

After Sunday services I started on my main winter task to dismantle the back yard shed ramp in preparation for building a new one.

Shed without ramp

I had hoped to possibly reuse some of the old wood, but it looks like only about one fifth of the wood is still good.

Pieces of old ramp

I have other wood to use, but will probably go to treated lumber for the whole job.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter harvest and other events

  1. Il semble que vous soyez un expert dans ce domaine, vos remarques sont tres interessantes, merci.

    – Daniel

  2. rlhoover says:

    Vos commentaires sont des plus gentils. Je ne suis pas un expert. Je suis une personne ordinaire. Je vous remercie encore une fois.

Leave a Reply

