Saturday Scenes

With the Christmas shopping all wound up Friday night, that left Saturday for other activities.  First came the Raking and Dumping of Leaves

... they just keep coming...mostly from the neighbors...

Following lunch, Jan decided to walk and I took the opportunity to get the road bike out. The temp was a tad under 40 degrees with virtually no wind.

My other car.

I rode to Bingham Elementary School and then went south to Catalpa and headed east.

Catalpa, just east of the RR tracks

These geese were along a pond east of Jones Spring that feeds into Pierson Creek.  An interesting historical note is that this is land that was traveled by Laura and Almanzo Wilder on their way to Mansfield.  Laura mentions this section of land in her book, On The Way Home.

FR 199 headed north toward FR 142

View from Cherry Street looking west toward Springfield

The Robert-Dryer cabin on FR 193

The final totals were:  12.73 miles, 13.7 mph.

This past week was pretty hard on the commute, so I plan on restarting it coming this week.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Saturday Scenes

  1. tracywilkins says:

    You know, I thought I had been on just about every farm road east of town, but I’ve never seen that little cabin. I’ll have to go searching for it one of these days!

    • rlhoover says:

      Tracy, I head out east on Catalpa and then turn north on FR 193 after crossing over Pierson Creek next to Mt. Pisgah Methodist Church. Like you, I am glad the overpass at Catalpa is finished.

  2. R1 says:

    Where is the picture that would let us read the historical marker?

    • rlhoover says:

      There is really no historical marker that gives any info. The sign just reads Greene County Historical Site – Roberts-Dryer Cabin. I have not found any info on this cabin, but then, I have not visited the Greene County Historical Museum.

  3. Pingback: Hold your hat and tie down small dogs | Two Feet Off the Asphalt

Leave a Reply

