Morning thoughts

No surprises on the a.m. commute.  The only wildlife sighted was a cat sitting on top of someone’s car along Elm St. (isn’t there a movie about Elm St.?, some horror flick?).  Not too much traffic out at that hour of the morning, either.

Which brings me to the subject of Traffic Lights and Stop Signs.  With lights, if there is traffic on the opposite side waiting, then I come to a full stop and wait along with them.  I see no point in needlessly giving cyclists a bad name by going through a red light while regular traffic has to wait and wait.  I have a similar practice with stop signs.  If there are no cars, then I don’t stop.  But if so, then I take my turn like everyone else, even to the extent of moving to the middle of the lane and acting like a motor vehicle in order to make sure that I am seen.

I have a non-cycling friend who gives me (and other riders) grief over cyclists’ marked tendency to ignore stop signs and red lights.  However, it is my understanding that Missouri law allows cyclists to proceed in such a manner after making sure the coast is clear.  Believe me, I know who wins the contest between a car and myself, and so do my co-riders.  On the street, I know my position on the pecking order and I attempt to be courteous and acknowledge all courteous acts toward me.

God made us, in part, as social beings.  When I realize that others (on two wheels or behind the wheel) have the same issues in life to deal with and will one day stand in front of the same God, then I find my acts toward them to be changed.  Hopefully for the better.

Merry Christmas!  Stay happy, 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

