An Old Trail

After some of the yard work, house chores and an errand to our favorite LBS, I took a short spin while Jan fixed cookies (Evie and Max will be over sometime this week).

I headed north through the neighborhood and decided to visit what my son and I called the Trail.  The Trail is a railway that was dismantled and abandoned in the latter 1970’s.  Part of it is still in use and crosses Barnes and Patterson on the south side of Chestnut Expressway.  It used to cross Cherry east of Oak Grove.  It did not experience a Rails To Trails conversion and was just allowed to go wild.  We always got onto the Trail at the intersection of Rockaway Street and Rockaway Lane.  Well, I made my way to that location, turned east on the Trail and set out to see what it was now like.

I felt that my hybrid tires would handle the terrain with ease.

The brush and trees have been allowed to take over...

and in some places have forced the pathway to take serpentine curves.

These homeowners on the south side of the path kept the wild growth at bay. One can see the old railbed in this photo.

I finally reached a place where the undergrowth prevented further advance.

The Trail used to proceed on from here and then join up with a track that comes down the east side of Springfield out of the north and then turns east, under highway 65.  This is the same track that goes by Turner’s Station and out on to Rogersville and from there on east to Memphis.

From the previous photo I turned north and found what in some western states might be called a logging road. In the distance is the 65 bridge over the tracks.

I rode the gravel bed beside the tracks and the next few pictures show some of the new construction on 65.

65 bridge and beyond it the Eastgate road bridge.

Looking back WSW after crossing over the tracks and making my way up to Eastgate.

Construction work

Taking a breather on Eastgate before proceeding.

I worked my way south over to Sunshine and then turned north for home.

An important south side Springfield business, damaged by fire. Andy's Frozen Custard. We miss it and look forward to its return.

Heading west on Bennett

Home is in sight after this short, but memorable ride.

I told Jan where I had been and she thought I might return there with Sam some day.  I then enjoyed the fruits of her labors.  She is a Sweetheart!!

Her cookies are known across the nation for their excellence.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Old Trail

  1. R1 says:

    Several thoughts.
    1) You have buried the lede, as newspaper reporters would put it, by leaving the cookie picture to the very end. They look yummy.
    2) I thought bicycle riding was intended to be enjoyed – i.e., pavement and downhill at that. This ride looks like it must have been a chore. Isn’t that why we have Marines?
    3) Starting the new year with a view of a burned out custard shop. Bummer.

Leave a Reply

