Around the barn, again

Well, this is my 59th New Year, so I should have the celebrations, etc., down pat by now.

I abandoned Resolutions years ago.  Now, I select Goals for the year.  The difference is that goals are recreational in nature.  In 2009 I set two goals.  The first, to do a century.  For non-cyclists this is to ride 100 miles in one day.  The second goal was to learn the ropes in directing a local chess tournament.  I succeeded in the former one, but failed in the latter. The failure was because I pursued cycling over organized chess and have not played a serious game since.  Jan wanted to do a century with me and we also wanted to do Ragbrai last year, but family events prevented any training for that.  But the century is a goal for 2011 along with riding 3,000+ miles for the year.  I will be interested in hearing what goals/resolutions have been made by any of you. Our son, Sam, has taken a particular path in his reading for a resolution this year.

Even with putting the garden and grasses to bed last Fall, with the fine temperatures around here during the end of December some plants are starting to sprout.  The hard freeze over the next few days should put an end to all this.

Daffodils coming up by the garage

Our New Year’s celebration consisted of attending a spinning class at Cox North fitness center where we enjoyed 90 minutes of spinning with our instructor and about a dozen other folks.  The theme picked by our instructor for this single class was Obstacles Turned Into Opportunities.  After all that good exercise we had dinner by going to a drive-through Chinese take-out.

Come morning, I decided to go on a short New Year’s Day ride, but Jan declined to join me due to the cold. She has decided that our cat is a sort of Canary In The Mine. If it is too cold for the cat to go outside, then it is too cold for Jan to be outside in a recreational manner.  I did a short local ride around the east side of Springfield and got home by noon. Later, we visited some friends in Nixa for a holiday party, but we were home by sundown. We are real Party Animals….

Jan and Linda doing some clean-up at the party.

Ray and I took pictures

A big thanks to Millie and Larry for their most excellent hospitality.  We should have another get-together soon.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Around the barn, again

  1. Jim says:

    I love chess! I don’t know if I’m tournament worthy though. I play on facebook all the time. Do you have an account? If you want to play sometime: http://www.facebook.com/onyourback

    • rlhoover says:

      Jim, your invitation is much appreciated. I guess one can do just about anything on Facebook. I used to play often at work and on Friday nights at the local USCF club, but I have currently picked cycling as my current outlet for recreational time and energy. But, you never know. We might play a game yet. Regards, Ron

Leave a Reply

