Change brings… well, change.

This post has nothing to do with cycling, commuting, fixing bikes or recent rides.  If you happen to read these posts because you love cycling, then know that my topic today is more about our family.

Over the past couple of weeks my wife and I have enjoyed Christmas, New Years and a visit with our children and their families.  Earlier this week our son and daughter-in-law went to Colorado so as to nail down a new job prospect just outside of the Denver area. During this trip both sets of grandparents took care of the grandchildren.  For us, this particular visit was the longest time that Evie and Max had stayed at our home.  The few days that the children were with us were wonderful.  We went out to eat, went to a park (we were the only ones there), even went to our LBS and had a good time with the staff. We played and watched Winnie The Pooh, over and over.  The visit was a true blessing.

Sam and Katie have lived in the Ozarks since their marriage in 2002 and they and the children have occupied a big part of our lives.  With their relocating to Colorado a fundamental change will occur and not just with them.  Jan and I will need to reorient how we spend our time.  This is because Jan (along with Katie’s parents) has been helping with babysitting for a little over three years.  Being retired, Jan had no serious calls on her time and was able to help out once a week while Sam and Katie worked.  This type of closeness and proximity to the children is now coming to an end.

Naturally, with Sam and his family moving away, there is some pain.  Sam and Katie feel this pain.  All the grandparents and our daughter feel the pain.  Even little Evie knows that a change will eventually occur.  People handle pain in different ways.  Some shed tears. Some are more silent, afraid their comments will end in tears.  Perhaps this is my way of dealing with this pain.

I remember a saying of my mother.  “Joys shared are doubled.  Sorrow shared is halved.”

Thanks for listening.

Our driveway chalk artists

A story before bedtime

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Change brings… well, change.

  1. R1 says:

    You’ll enjoy the drives to Colorado. Don’t you remember family vacations when we had to suffer the long boring hot hours driving across Kansas until we could finally see some interesting scenery rising up in Colorado? Take your bike and try to gasp your way up to the Continental Divide.

    R1

    • rlhoover says:

      Well, I do happen to be one of those unusual persons who sort of enjoys the trip across Kansas. I think about the Great American Desert as it used to be called and all the pioneers that settled this troubled state. As for gasping up the Continental Divide, I can gasp quite well here in the Ozarks, thank you.

  2. How timely I came across your blog. My wife and I have our two grandchildren a lot, and I mean a lot. Our daughter has a night job that leaves her exhausted and physical ailments on occasion that sometimes require bedrest. They are a joy but to be honest at 66 and a veteran of 3 heart attacks they can wear me out. Charlie is 3 and Zoe 16 months, you can see them on my blog http://thomsonhomeemporium.com along with the Colbaugh’s and Sara during her recent visit to Springfield for her concert. I had the privilege to meet Sam and Katie as well. I was the man who shared from the stage during the concert.

    I know the hole in my heart would be great if my Charlie and Zoe moved or we moved and I can only imagine how you must feel as well. God’s peace be with you.

    • rlhoover says:

      Yes, Mr. Thomson, I remember sitting behind you in the audience during the concert. I appreciated your comments then and now. May the Lord give you all strength and grace (especially for my wife) during this time. Regards, Ron

Leave a Reply

