Weekend

After Jan had cleared the driveway of snow I found this article in the WSJ.  I will try the X-shaped method at the next opportunity and give a report.

I am not a bike mechanic, but I do try to keep the bike chains cleaned and oiled every 500 or so miles.  When it comes to the brakes I let the LBS do that.  I remember trying to fix the brakes on my former ten-speed about twenty years ago.  Disaster.  With that in mind, we took the hybrids to be serviced.  I got new back brakes and they did their usual excellent job.  Any of the fellows are always glad to talk with us and answer (or show the answer to) any of our questions.

Getting the wheels back

I also stopped by the local chess club.  They were playing a match against the club from Joplin, Missouri.  Seven players to a side, rapid chess was the format.

This round robin is a one day event.  Perhaps it can become an annual tournament.  I went back in the afternoon to see how things were going.  I could not read the cross table too well, but was told that the score was about even between the two clubs.

When I got home, Jan asked if I wanted hot chocolate.  You bet.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekend

  1. Martin Stahl says:

    Hey, this is Martin from the Joplin Chess Club. Would you mind if I pulled these images and posted them to the Joplin Chess website? I’ll attribute them to you and link back to here.
    Thanks.

  2. Pingback: Joplin Chess » When Clubs Clash

Leave a Reply

