Redeem the time

If on a weekend the wind chill is -5, or I look out the back window at two inches of rain, or out the front window at two feet of snow, what to do when I cannot ride?

I have at least four choices.  1) Work on making candles for Christmas luminaries 2) Work on the new ramp for the shed and 3) Read … and all of a sudden, I cannot remember number four….

I burn 60 to 70 candles each Christmas, so I have plenty of candles to make.  I need to buy the lumber for the ramp.  I have plenty of books and the recent copy of Bicycling mag to read.  My work is cut out.

Over the past Fall I re-read the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder (I found the second volume, The Little House On the Prairie, to be a gem.)  I just recently finished The Walking Preacher Of the Ozarks by Guy Howard, a farmer from Iowa who as a result of family tragedy moved to Hickory County, Missouri, and started teaching and preaching in the 1930s and 40s.

I enjoy an occasional western or old novel, but usually stick to narrative history.  I would like to find a book on ancient Rome or Napoleon… and even with the impending deterioration of the present good weather, I would also like to resume commuting next week.  We will see.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, springfield missouri. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

