A Day Outside

Saturday was wonderful for any number of events.  Being on the road, yard work, heck, one could even drive to K.C. if one was so inclined.  I do not know of many things that can compare to the worldly delight of 60-plus degree weather in January.

Take the first two choices, ride or yard work?  Let’s do both!  We started with cleaning up the back yard of the gum balls (again) and then took the seven bags of yard waste to the dump.  In preparation of the coming snow I washed the truck and after lunch, we decided to ride the Frisco Highline Trail.

The weather was perfect and others were out riding, running, even riding horses.

We took a detour from off of the Trail and went north on Westgate.

A lovely field ready for Spring

The road turns west, back toward the Trail

An entry gateway on FR117

Some of the ponds still have ice

Looks like someone needed encouragement after the manner of the Tour de France

Back on the Trail riding past the Conco Quarry

The old Willard bike shop, now closed

Part of commercial Willard

A four-footed conveyance

A chopped off utility pole that used to carry the phone lines along the railway

Along the way out, we met Bill Griffin of Evangel, a fellow cyclist and then went by James Meridith, training for his next marathon.  Jan and I went a bit beyond the end of the asphalt and turned back toward Springfield.  Lots of friendly folks out, all having a great day.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Day Outside

  1. tracywilkins says:

    Hey!

    Glad you were able to get out and enjoy the day also. We don’t get many like that. Pam and I saved all our chores for after church yesterday, but when the day was over, I commented that we would have normally called yesterday a pretty good day for the end of January had it not been for Saturday!

  2. R1 says:

    Two Feet Off says: “I do not know of many things that can compare to the worldly delight of 60-plus degree weather in January.”

    I’ll help.

    60-plus degree weather in January… at the beach.

    R1 (in Florida.)

    • rlhoover says:

      Yes, I know. I live a pathetic life, no where near Florida…. But I remember that the biggest hills I saw in Florida were the exit ramps from off of the interstate.

  3. Pingback: Snowy trail | Two Feet Off the Asphalt

Leave a Reply

