On the downhill


Raised beds getting nitrogen

Our share of the snow has quit and moved east.  Now we face sub-zero temps at night.  I piled snow against the crawl space entrance and all the [closed] foundation vents.  That just about takes care of any chance of the water pipes freezing.  One benefit of cycling was that I was able to keep the driveway cleared off while the snow was coming.  I had no health-type problem during all that shoveling and did the final touches this morning after breakfast.  I feel I did as good a job as Jan.

Ready for the next dump....

Notice the snow-mound-soon-to-be-igloo

We have not had the chance to make a snow mound-igloo for years.  I will see what I can do with it.

Now for a rant:  I see where McDonald’s can get their parking lot cleared down to the pavement, but Oak Grove Ave. has not seen hide nor hair of a snow blade.  Perhaps later.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the downhill

  1. tracywilkins says:

    We usually don’t hold out any hope of having our street plowed. Because we live down a hill on a cul-de-sac, I vowed long ago to never be with without a 4WD vehicle. There are only a couple of times a year that I need it, but it makes the difference between getting out and not.

    • rlhoover says:

      You are wise to have a 4WD. Our street is level and therefore, I don’t expect the city to do anything, but Oak Grove is the only north/south street from Cherry to Sunshine in our area. But like I said, the snow plows will arrive tonight. I’m driving tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

