Hang

Yesterdays’ commute went along without incident except for the tail light batteries going dead.  I enjoyed a sunrise with a striking red sky [… in the morning, sailor take warning…] and the trip home with a brisk south wind.

I stopped by City Utilities to pay my monthly debt

And a salute to a well-known local Springfield cyclist who works there

I picked Jefferson Ave. for this part of the trip to avoid the winds on Martin Luther King Bridge.  I often remember the pro cyclists who sped down this street for the Tour of Missouri in 2007-08-09.  A sad state of government affairs in Jefferson City prevented their return last year.

Looking south on Jefferson Ave.

While waiting for the light to change, another cyclist joined me.  We started talking and it turned out, surprise, that we knew each other from attending the same church in the 70s and 80s.  Randy teaches at Central High School along with his wife.  I had to leave him and turn east after a few blocks.
I worked my way over to Cherry and Glenstone and on home through the residential streets.

On the way home, I looked for early signs of Spring, but the only flowers that I saw were the ones that my wife had planted a few years ago.

 
The lilac is starting to bud, a bit too early, but here’s to expecting a beautiful Spring.
As I mentioned, the wind was brisk.  But as my friend, Scott, says, “If you don’t like riding in the wind, then you might as well just hang it up.”
Stay happy,
About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hang

  1. tracywilkins says:

    Hey! You should have saluted louder! I didn’t know you were there!

  2. Bill Lambert says:

    We had a red sky yesterday, but didn’t get rain until today.

    Good to see flowers again. I’m hoping we’ll see some soon.

    • rlhoover says:

      It is pouring down here this evening. In the morning, I plan on making a second cold-frame for some early plants in the garden. Bring on the flowers!!

Leave a Reply

