Before the rain

Our lives the past few days have produced nothing out of the ordinary, I think.  Jan and I went to Oklahoma on Saturday to visit family.  The weather was perfect for riding [we went by car, that is].  We saw this fence ornamentation outside Nowata.

A free meal for birds
I saw a similar sight while riding outside Ash Grove where the fisherman had over half a dozen heads arrayed on his fence.  I enjoy such local color.
Sunday afternoon, I got out east of town and examined a couple of new roads.  This is the view to the south toward County Rd. D [I am always surprised at how ‘clean’ the shoulders are on this road], FR 199 can be seen stretching from the right and rain away off to the south.
 I ended up going east on FR 132, some day Jan and I need to ride that whole road, hills and all.
Another view from along FR 132

 This cemetary may hold riders who were unable to do the hills along FR 132….
After turning back, I came upon what I call a May-the-Good-Lord-have-mercy section.  Downhill to a blind right angle turn and an immediate climb.

 Finally got back to town.  I was blessed not to have been cut-off by any drivers.  Everyone gave me plenty of room for which I am most thankful. 
I missed the rain.  One minute after entering the garage, the thunder started, but I was dry.
Stay happy,
About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Before the rain

  1. Bill Lambert says:

    What is it about fence posts that makes people want to hang dead animals from them? Around here it’s ground hogs.

Leave a Reply

