Good reason

With the arrival of Spring and its more temperate climate, I have started to take a riding lunch break out on the streets of my fair city.  These times are for easy spins through the neighboring streets and parks.  Sometimes I ride with another employee, Kyle.  The other day, we went to Jordan Valley Park, the setting for occasional outdoor concerts and fireworks displays.

The waterway down to the ring-shaped pool is always a hit for young children and their parents.  It is also enjoyed by grandparents and their grandchildren.

We have a short walk/bike trail along the north end of the park that goes west toward the downtown part of town.

St. Joseph’s church in the background.

This week is Spring Break for the local public schools and it sure is nice not to have the extra traffic to avoid.

The empty parking lot at Central High School

On the way home I went through Jordan Valley Park and noticed this ground hog peeking out of his home at an intruder, me.

Farther on, I noticed the overhead doors were open at this business, a sure sign that Spring has arrived.

Another sign are the tulip trees that have blossomed.

And the lettuce is up in the cold frames.

And finally, I went to gas up the car at a local station and found that one of the pumps had been hit by a car.  The gas lines to the non-87 octane storage tanks for that pump were damaged.  This resulted in the 87 octane line to be the only one that worked for the whole station. The thought occurred to me, “This is why I ride.”

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good reason

  1. Bill Lambert says:

    That green grass is beautiful! I love that color!

Leave a Reply

