Does Spring have to be like this??

The wheel has turned.  Cold air and rain have now descended on our fair city.  This ad from an old Reader’s Digest sums it up.

The weather forecast

Our back yard turned into a quagmire this morning.

In such conditions, Jan tells me that I look like Orca the whale when I commute.

I think maybe I look more like our cat….

Orca the cat

Nevertheless, out I go to brave the empty streets of Springfield during spring break.  It is a welcome relief not to deal with some of the traffic [but I would like it more if the city would sweep the bike lanes more often].

Barnes without traffic

Next week will be different.

We will have dinner with a good friend tonight.  Jan is fixing pasta, so I will have to ride extra hard tomorrow after church to take advantage of it.  In the meantime, we may visit this new Amish store that opened today.

... and no, I was not paid to plug this store...

I hope your coming week is blessed, whether you commute or not.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

