Cold once more

Jan had a prior commitment Sunday afternoon.  So she was unable to join me on what has become my usual Sunday afternoon jaunt out east of town.

Bradford pear trees line the beginning of a long downhill

This route has quite a bit of climbing, in my estimation

I usually choose this jersey for cloudy day rides

Pierson Creek is over the bank. After leaving it, the climbs begin

I stayed on County Rd. D a little more than previous rides, before turning back north.

Many people have these Bradford pear trees, but they are too prone to wind and ice damage for me. These are along FR 205

I decided to take this side road to see what was there....

The road (FR 142) went sharply down....

... and when I turned north on FR 207, it directly went up.

Maybe I could market my face color for house paint. In addition, this home is sometimes used as a rest stop on rides like the Queen City Century or the Tour de Bass.

The day has been a bit windy and these folks were out kite flying.

Jan and I saw a ‘one-legged’ duck on the way home from services, and I had thought, “What a picture!” When I saw this one, I knew I had to stop and get the camera out.

The goose was along Pierson Creek, on the final climb of the day.  As I took its picture, I heard a train horn and knew that I would have to really push it up the hill to beat it across the tracks.  I made it and realized that the minute I took to stop for the goose had given me enough recovery to do a credible job on the climb.  This is news I can use.

In closing, my wife mentioned a while back that in her view, cycling was the only sport that had caught my interest.  I guess she is right, because this weekend I was more interested in seeing that Fabian Cancellara and Tom Boonen had won their races than I was in finding out that Cuonzo Martin was leaving Missouri State for Tennessee.  Martin can do whatever he wants to, but it is Fun to watch Spartacus ride!

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cold once more

  1. Agreed on ‘Spartacus’. I’m really looking forward to seeing what he (and Boonen) can do over the next couple of weekends.

  2. Pingback: Run to Strafford | Two Feet Off the Asphalt

Leave a Reply

