Starting the season, Part One

I know that many cyclists never really end their season of riding.  Commuters [and I consider myself a Minor League Commuter] that are hard core, brave it through winter and on into the new year.  I commuted off and on through the winter, but when it came to road cycling I did not do too much.  Harsh weather or family commitments [maybe I should reverse the order] intervened often enough to keep the roading to a minimum.

With the coming of more temperate weather, we are doing more to get out and ride. The last two evenings, we have done tours out toward Rogersville.  Thursday evening we started from Temple Israel and took County Line Road [FR 194] east to R-ville and then returned on FR 186.  This is the route [186] that introduced me to R-ville road cycling back in 2008.  I only had a Bianchi hybrid that I used to commute with.  It weighs about 30 pounds and I was always lagging behind.  Such a life!  The next year I bought an aluminum/carbon road bike and life improved.  Can I hear an “Amen!”?  But anyway, back in those early days, we used to start from Mentor Baptist Church [remember that?] and just went out and back on FR 186 until it was suggested to us to go and ride FR 194 in conjunction with our old friend 186.  We did so and we started to feel like we also were members of the local cycling community.  Then one evening, Jan’s spinning instructor, Sheryl, took us on a bigger loop that went north of Hwy 60 and back to R-ville on FRs 170 and 253.  Our cycling world grew when one of my friends at work took us to Ash Grove one spring Saturday.  My, how big the world had grown.  Jan and I started to look for other routes on our own and ‘discovered’ a way to get to Strafford/Marshfield and also found long 20+ mile loops out east of Springfield using various roads.  Just last month, I found a possible route for a Springfield-Strafford-Rogersville-back-to-Springfield loop that some day I will do and let you all know about.  But then maybe it is just an old route that others already know about….

…I have digressed….

On Thursday, we started from Temple Israel.

Jan, being a gardener herself, went over to check out the garden at Temple Israel

The cow herds were out in force

I looked for someone at this Century dairy to ask if they fed grass through the winter, but I did not see anyone out and about

These three canine friends were overly eager to greet us, but the fence corralled them in.

A dog on a porch with a free-range hen scampering away from two cyclists.

One more climb before the turn to Rogersville

We took a stop at the Hardy’s in R-ville and then headed back via FR 186.  The wind was strong and out of the south.  We had major crosswinds to fight both on the way out and back.

Back in 2008, we saw a deer next to the road [notice how smooth that was? I used the word ‘next’ and did not have to fret over the correct use of lay or lie.  I don’t have that bit of grammar figured out yet].  It had been hit by a car and just left there.  Ever since then we have observed the progression of decay.  Aren’t you fascinated?

Progression

Back at the Temple, we saw this Springbike rider heading out for his own ride.

We rode the next evening [Friday] and went to Willard on the Frisco Highline Trail Saturday afternoon.  I will continue with those stories in the next post.  This will have to do for now.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

