Pacing one’s self

The ride Sunday afternoon revealed that I should be doing a recovery ride instead of a regular one.  After three straight days of road or trail, my legs were wanting some relief.  I made an Executive Decision, cut the ride short, and headed in, ending up with about seven miles.

Once home I got some chores done earlier than planned, so things worked out well.

Mentor

Mentor is a small community out east of Springfield that used to have a store and school house.  Temple Israel is located close by and that is where Jan and I started from last night.  In the past, I have not gone out to ride in the evening when I commuted to work.  I figured it would be too much, but this year, I will try for ‘double-ride’ days.  I feel like I can do it without too much difficulty.

Here is the Mentor Store, long closed down. The old Mentor School that was across the road was torn down last year by the land owners. I regret I never got a picture of it.

I know that it is my imagination, but I can hear the meadowlarks when I look at a picture like this.

The old Four Corners store.

This short section with the trees all leafed out can be quite a relief during the dog days of summer.

We took a stop at the McDonald's in Rogersville.

Hardy’s can be seen across the road in the above picture.  It is another watering hole for cyclists passing through.  The road back to Temple Israel [FR 186] is a long gradual downhill with some rollers thrown in for variety.  Traffic is usually going east as we head west, so that part of the ride is pleasant.  As the daylight grows, our rides will get longer, and we may end up going on to Fordland before turning back.  Right now, the 20-25 mile distance is good for building up to longer treks in the coming days.

The wind was not as strong as on previous rides. Local residents were taking advantage of this by burning brush, etc.

Tuesday evening has a scheduled ride on these roads. Some of these riders may be with Springbike, a major local cycling club.

Our speed is not overly impressive.  We generally get passed by any cyclist out there, but have progressed in not letting that bother us.  We are not out to impress anyone and do not have anything to prove.  The simple fact that we are Out There is enough to make us give thanks.

When we returned to our car at the Temple's lot, this cardinal was singing his heart out.

This cardinal was a delight and a fitting end to an enjoyable ride.  Wherever you may be, may you have fair skies and the good Lord’s blessing.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

