Dreams, Art, Frogs

Dreams

Some time last Spring, I ran across the account of Steve Garufi’s ride across American in 2008.  I read it with interest and imagined that at least I might be able to bike from Springfield to St. Louis some day.  I know not if it will ever happen, but I enjoy reading the achievements of others.  I found out the other day that Mr. Garufi has done a second ride earlier this year.  I regret missing this trip and not following his progress; I enjoy the photos and written accounts of his daily adventures.

On the Home Front, our daughter-in-law and GRANDCHILDREN will be coming for a visit next week.  Hooray!  She needs to tie up some remaining loose ends here in Springfield [garage sale] and help prepare to move the items that they want to have in Colorado.  Sam has started his new job at Focus On The Family and [more Hooray!] will show up a week later with the truck.  People tell me Colorado Springs is a beautiful place.  One day we will visit them and learn for ourselves.

Work

One of my friends at work lives in Bolivar, the north terminus for the Frisco Highline Trail.  He has been talking about getting a bike to start riding once more.  Another fellow employee brought in one for him to consider.

It turned out to be a bit small for the prospective buyer.  Some of the teeth on the front ring are damaged and the steering post needs to be tightened, but the frame and tires are ok.  On the other end of the spectrum is this specimen, taken from an email celebrating Redneck Worksmanship.

Only one brake, but then, how fast could one go and live??

Art

Only a couple of commutes this week and nothing out of the ordinary to comment on. Unless you consider public art out of the ordinary.  Some public art (or just art, for that matter) leaves me unimpressed.  An example of the latter is this metal sculpture on the grounds of the Springfield Art Museum.  Scrap metal prices must have been low that year.

More interesting in my view is this sidewalk art at the Jordan Valley Park next to the ice rink.  I particularly like the water accents.

The Road

On the cycling front, Jan and I went to Strafford using the Old Wire Road last weekend. This ride is quite easy and constitutes the first part of a long loop that I am planning.

Headed east out the OWR.

We once again passed this aromatic dairy.  However, we decided that Aroma In The Country beats Riding With City Traffic.  That’s my pick, at least.

We stopped at the truck stop on the west side of the interchange at Strafford and were greeted with the sight of a number of these big vacation vehicles.  I told Jan that I am sometimes amazed at the amount of money that people can spend on things like that.  And then we started to laugh because we know that if you really want something (like a road bike!), you will find a way to have it.

Going to Strafford we had a tailwind.  Coming back home, we paid the piper.  This is what a strong headwind looks like to me.

Going up with a headwind

But the wind in our ears did not drown out the young frogs and their loud chorus that serenaded us from water-filled ditches.

Can you hear them?

This climb [looking over my shoulder] up to an I-44 overpass was always a serious struggle when I used to ride the roads on my hybrid [35 pounds!].  Currently, our legs are in much better condition and the climb is not as bad.

And with that, I hope and pray that your climbs also get easier.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

