A day with rain

The day's prospect come to pass

A deep, satisfying, Green has come to the Ozarks by way of rain.  Gentle, soaking, rain.  We are expecting this off and on for the next five days.  With the rain falling upon us (and I hope I am one of the Just) I decided to get some pics from our yard of the local vegetation.

This lettuce which started under the cold frames is coming along well

Columbine, blooming

The potatoes are finally up!

This Two-For-One shot shows the cat's antics just as I clicked the camera

Jan's roses sans cat

I came home from work to find that one of the rain barrels was empty.  The hose had fallen down and leaked out all the precious supply of rainwater.  I fixed the problem and after today’s rain, we have a refilled barrel.

Empty rain barrel

I am reminded of a saying that my older brother, Rick, liked to repeat while we were young boys, “Empty barrels make the most noise.”  I love it!

A while back we had a severe freeze (-8 degrees) that got our liriope.  It will come back.

Liriope and hosta

During the afternoon, Jan and I tackled some chores.  I went to work on a screen door.  I removed the old screen, painted it and repaired some of the corners.  I will make the lower (right hand side) section solid because the cat claws the screen when it wants in.  I do not like clawed screen….

Good-bye to the old red paint (you can see Jan's bamboo behind the door, it is spreading...)

Jan decided on a bold move and got up into the attic to prepare for next weekend’s yard sale!  For a while more than just rain was coming down.

Watch where you stand

She got quite a bit accomplished for the day and ended up bringing this box down to clean out.  It has papers, pictures, etc., from her parents, now passed on.

Memories to warm the heart

The rain continues on as I write and will do so for a number of days coming up.  But that is alright, since it will have to end someday and then we will get the sunshine back.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

