All ahead Three-Quarters

I hope you all had a blessed Easter.  We sure did.  Jan fixed a fine dinner and our daughter Sarah and her friend Nathan brought some fixin’s to go with it.

Asparagus with an apricot glazed ham

We woke the next day to a continuing rain.  We headed out to Kansas City to pick up our daughter-in-law, Katie, and our grandchildren, Max and Evie.  It rained the whole way to Harrisonville.  The new section of Hwy 13 is so much better than the old road.  Look at that shoulder, and clean, too!

I am used to seeing the Share The Road signs with the bicycle image.  What was new for me was seeing these Share The Road signs with an Amish buggy and horse.

We finally started to drive out of the rain and I realized that there really are some people who live where it is not raining….

I picked up the speed a bit.  When in rain, I always keep it below full speed ahead.  I realized two things on this trip that I will relate.  One, I am willing to vote for any money that will improve Missouri roads.  Two, there is a subset of drivers out there that are impatient and not willing to wait.  Many times as I approached an intersection, the driver going perpendicular to me would gun it and roar across the road rather than wait for me to pass.  Unnerving to say the least.  Stupid begins to describe it.

We approached the Missouri River and saw wonderful bottom land.  The type that is flooded every once in a while.  Rich brown soil.

 

Crossing the Mighty Mo

The kids flight from Denver was only a bit late.  I got a welcome hug from young Max.

Perhaps he was really fascinated by the poster behind me relating the history of Swinging KC in the 1920s, 30s, and 40s.

On the way back to Springfield, we once more entered the rainy season and swam the rest of the way home.

Let me say once more how impressed I am with the new Hwy 13.  The old road used to be called Bloody 13 due to all the fatal accidents that occurred on it.  I remember once a neighbor of mine bragged that he made it from Springfield to Bolivar one night in half and hour.  I was not impressed.

Here’s to safer driving [riding].

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

