Event

A momentous event

The Treat

Our daughter and daughter-in-law treated us all to dinner last night.  French Toast and Bacon.  And quite delicious.  I cannot remember the last time I have eaten this dish.  The syrup was from Vermont and so it had to be Good.

The Grandchildren

The visit with Katie, Evie, and Max has been everything we hoped it would be.  The rain let up enough for us to take a walk in the neighborhood.  Evie rode her bike and Max enjoyed talking with a neighbor’s dog.

You can just barely see the cookie in Max's right hand. Ruby the dog was all excited at the chance of food!

A comparison of Two Feet. Max and myself.

The Commute

The rain finally left and I was greeted with a wonderful sight this morning.  A clear sky and the waning moon in the east.

Morning Moon

At lunch, I got out for a spin and found myself on Chase St. in an older part of Springfield. North Springfield (where Chase St. is) and Springfield were separate communities in the 1800s, but with the coming of the railroad the two communities decided to join together.  I don’t know for sure, but I suspect that the street was named for Salmon P. Chase, Cabinet member under Abraham Lincoln and then Supreme Court Chief Justice.  When Lincoln put him in the Supreme Court, Chase’s presidential aspirations were pushed off into the future, where they died….

Chase Street

Another view from Chase Street. The red barn like building is interesting. I will get a better pic later.

Ahead of me in the bike lane (on Boonville) turned out to be a former neighbor, Brad.  He was cranking it uphill on his fixie.

And finally, I enjoyed the clouds on the way home.  Perhaps you will, also.

Looking east on Trafficway

Across the ballpark parking lot.

The Citizenship Lesson

And finally (again), another example of Public Art.  This is next to the Hammond’s Ball Park on Trafficway here in Springfield.

Didactic Art, teaching us Reprobates to be Good People

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

