All things Spring

This last weekend, Jan and I continued the cleaning process, taking more items from the attic and deciding on their individual fates.  We did not accumulate these items overnight, and it takes a process to dispose of them.  Jan is just now recovering from a virus/cold and so, no riding in the cool windy air.

Some stuff may end up in some type of garage sale.

Other stuff will be returned to its original owner (read: daughter!)

And some stuff was given to charitable organizations

The elements then improved, just in time for the annual Bike to Work week (as opposed to Drive to Work the rest of the year??)  Rainy, cool, and cloudy gave way to a beautiful, but crisp morning.

May brings graduation and empty streets (hooray!).  I particularly noticed Benton around Drury University was devoid of cars.

Empty Benton Ave. by Drury U.

 It looked like Jan and I were not the only ones cleaning.  Hammond’s Tower is getting an outside scrub-down.

I would enjoy this job, but at a younger age

I wonder how often those windows get cleaned, and I also wonder how those platforms are stabilized in a brisk north wind.

Here’s to miles on the road, yet to come!

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to All things Spring

  1. Jim Phillips says:

    I work in the Tower and love to watch the window guys. Watching them get the basket against the windows below the lip of the restaurant is the most fascinating part. They seem to come about every two years. When it comes to the wind, they just don’t go up when its blowing hard. Sometimes they don’t go up for several days. It takes them about a month to get all the way around. It would be a cool job!

    • rlhoover says:

      I remember watching the cell tower being built on the east side of the MLK bridge and thinking what a fun job that would be. I guess those days are now long gone.

  2. R1 says:

    When I saw the Hammond Tower picture for a moment I thought you were going to talk about North By Northwest. Opening credits are super-imposed on a similar set of building windows.

Leave a Reply

