A full day

Rain left our area as Saturday started.  We had two riding choices to pick from.  First, ride to Ash Grove and back, starting from Elwood, and second, do an extensive tour of Springfield. We pick number Two.  But before that, a bit of yard work.

Counting and cutting living things

I counted nineteen Double Delight and ten Mr. Lincoln rose buds on Jan’s roses.  I guess the rain has helped quite a bit.

Double Delight starting to bloom

I then attacked and cleared some wild-like Virginia Creeper from the back corner of the yard. VC tends to take over everything.  I will probably wait until Fall to clean out the lilac of this stuff.  Jan cleaned out the back fence row of wild violets and wild strawberries while I loaded the truck for the recycle center.

Tour of Springfield

Jan packed a lunch and we headed out for Phelps Grove Park.  We noticed this brightly painted home on Portland.  It reminded me of the flag of Sweden.

West of this home we stopped at the Xeriscape Garden located at the corner of National and Linwood.  Jan knows the names of most of these plants and flowers.

Roses

Some flower that looks like some sort of Japanese spiraea

I think these are my favorite

We ate lunch at Phelps Grove Park.  I have heard that the park was once home to the Springfield Zoo.  I would like to find a map or diagram that showed where the different animal exhibits or cages were located.

The pavilion looks like it was built in the 1920s

 

View of the north side of the park

A post-lunch event. No, it is Not one of the animals from the long, lost zoo. No.

At this point Jan remembered that she had not put on sunscreen, so we went to a local Walgreen’s for her to get some.  We ended up on the north side of town between Commercial and Kearney.  I wanted to head back south on Broadway, but the BNSF railroad had succeeded in getting Springfield to block the RR crossing at Broadway a few years back. I had hoped that there still might be some way for a cyclist to cross, but no.

Totally blocked

Turning back toward home, we came across this yard that made me stop for a picture and conversation.

I have seen yards with a few bikes in them, but this is serious.  I asked the fellow if I could have a picture and he was glad to oblige.  He calls himself Turbo Tim and he has an interesting assortment of bikes at his home on Main, north of Division.  I now know that I should have gotten some pictures of some of them.  In particular, the one on the right hand side [with the front wheel cut off] is a Schwinn Typhoon from 1966 that reminded me so much of the bike I had as a young boy in the early 60s.  Perhaps I can dig out a picture of it from some old home movies.

Jan and I had a good talk with Tim.  He discussed his struggling bike business and a ride he had taken to Butler, Missouri, recently [29 hours with three flats].  His dog guards the pack from under the RV [“I keep him on a long leash.”] and kept an eye on things while we talked about his bikes, etc.  I completely the enjoyed the time and will probably come back someday and see how things are going.

Turbo Tim (I also liked the car tags in the background)

Soon after we left Tim, our daughter called and asked if she could join us on her bike.  We said sure, and met up with her back at our home.  We took a short break before heading back out.  Sarah and Jan wanted to visit The Cup, a cupcake bakery on Walnut.

Visiting The Cup is getting to be traditional

Sarah and Jan each had one (I passed on the chance) and then we headed home to relax for the rest of the day, having put in 24 miles altogether.

Finis

I close with a couple of thoughts.

The tornado in Joplin, Missouri last Sunday caused great devastation.  We are looking at years to rebuild the community.  Those who can, are encouraged to volunteer their time and labor to help get Joplin back on its feet.  For those who might want to contribute money, I offer this link to Convoy of Hope, a faith-based organization here in Springfield, Missouri, that responds to natural disasters around the world.  We all are in need of each other in one way or another.

Memorial Day [formerly Decoration Day] was started to remember and decorate the graves of the soldiers of the Union that fell during the Civil War.  It has expanded to be a holiday that remembers all our veterans and the sacrifice that has been made to keep our country Free.  I take my hat off and thank them from the bottom of my heart for all that they have done and will be asked to do.  May God Bless All Of Them.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A full day

  1. R1 says:

    I will not comment about people who take naps while smelling the inside of their helmets. No, I have other memories to share about Phelps Grove Park. (That’s the one with the locomotive, right?) So if I have the right park in mind, THERE is the place, THERE was the moment when I was introduced to … (the mouth begins watering as I relive the moment) … FRITOS. As a young boy our family was there for some kind of group picnic and it was the other people who had brought some of those orange-and-red bags along. I’d never had one before, but one bite … one salty, crunchy taste … made it imperative that mother add Fritos to the next grocery list. THIS is why God invented corn! THIS is probably what manna tasted like!!

    Wait … what? This is a bicycle blog?? Never mind.

    • rlhoover says:

      The picnic you recall was probably a company picnic from where Dad worked. I remember one at Smith Park. Your memory was of Grant Beach Park, west of where we attended church as youngsters, which brings up a memory of church from those days; I recall the rush and chill of air conditioning as we walked in the door each Sunday during the hot, humid days of Summer. Now THAT was a delight!

Leave a Reply

