Morning views

Commuting through the year often means having a cool start to a hot afternoon.  On the way to work yesterday I saw evidence of the humidity that we would all live with for the rest of the day.

Morning fog

More fog along Catalpa

The streets are not all empty at 6 a.m.  A variety of persons can be seen.  Excersisers, dog walkers, and other cyclists are all out with the early traffic.

 

This rider caught up with me at Benton and Chestnut. He was out getting some miles in before the start of the work day.

A few scenes from my route to work.

Quiet Walnut Street, site of the annual ArtsFest.

 

Looking toward MIdtown from the MLK bridge

Our venerable Shrine Mosque, venue for various events.

After a warm and windy ride home, Jan and I met with some friends who were having a garage sale.  We turned over some items to them for the sale.  One of the items was this oil heater for winter.  The last time I had turned it on, it did not work.  I tried one more time and mirabile dictu, it worked fine and will now stay in my possesion.  Don’t ask, I have no explanations.

The tire pump (schrader only) goes to one of my pals at work

 

Old fishing rods for another pal

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Morning views

  1. Bill Lambert says:

    It’s pretty steamy here. But I have to say, these warm early mornings feel pretty good. Unfortunately, they won’t last long.

Leave a Reply

