It’s A Gift

This Father’s Day, we enjoyed visits with our daughter Sarah (a local resident), and our son Sam and his family.  Sam and Company arrived on vacation from Colorado Springs on Saturday and will spend the week.  Yesterday, following services and lunch, Sam and I went out for a short spin up toward Strafford, Mo.

We tried to display a festive, Good Ol’ Boy Mood before heading out into the wind

Heading north, we had a good tailwind and made good time.  When we got to OO, we headed west in order to cross over I-44 at Hwy 125.  Sam is in good shape and pushed the tempo as a young rider should.

Finished with going north, time to head west

Heading west on FR104 toward FR205

Trying to keep the pace up...

We passed various roadkill like deer and snakes (sorry, no pics!), and on Blue Grass Road we rescued a young snapping turtle from danger.

Speaking of animals, Jan and I saw these catfish heads on a fence on our ride to Ash Grove on Saturday.

Fine looking trophies

On the way back toward Strafford, Sam mentioned that his seat must have gotten lower during our ride and he could tell a difference.  I got the bike tool out and was able to make an adjustment.  Sam took his bike to the shop today for a check-over.

Before

And after

We finished with 21 miles at 15.4 mph.  As I mentioned, he pushed it and I was able to keep up and do some pushing of my own.

This was a Father’s Day ride to remember.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s A Gift

  1. Every time we pass that house with the catfish heads, I try to get Pam to let me decorate our back fence the same way. So far, she’s resisted……and I can’t understand why.

Leave a Reply

