Ash Grove

Jan and I rode to Ash Grove on June 18 and quite enjoyed ourselves.

We almost had to stop for this eastbound train, but it ended before we reached the crossing

One of the roads close to the Bois D'arc Conservation Area

A corn field just outside of Ash Grove. We will enjoy watching its progress through the summer

Downtown Ash Grove. No, that is not a hill, I just don't know how to hold a camera...

Jan resting on a marble bench outside the local gas/store

We took a different route home and were greeted by this train

Three pics of some wild flowers beside the road

Trumpet vine

A variety of colors along with poison ivy

The ride to Ash Grove was my First long distance ride back in 2008.  I thought I was going to die, but somehow survived.  The distance from our front door to A.G. and back is about 63 miles.  Jan and I plan on including this segment in our Century attempt later this fall.

Later this same day [June 18], our son and family arrived from Colorado for a week of vacation.  We rode together a few times and later I will have some pictures to show.

They have now returned to their home and our lives have much quieted down.

A quiet house after grandchildren.

A quiet house.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ash Grove

  1. Bill Lambert says:

    Actually, you just did a century (metric)! Good luck on you preparation for your full century this fall!

    • rlhoover says:

      Bill, your comment shows me the error in my post. We had left from the west side of Springfield and the distance was cut in half, 31 miles in reality. When we attempt the Century, after doing Ash Grove, we will go east to Marshfield and then return home, hopefully triumphant!! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

