I remember

These days in the Ozarks are hot and sultry, like much of the mid-section of the country. I have only biked to work one day this week for various reasons and have just a few scenes from yesterday’s commute to offer.

An empty fruit market stand that will be busy later in the day

The water course at Phelps Grove Park. My late father-in-law worked on this WPA project in the mid 30s.

On the way home I turned down this avenue so I could get some shade. Yes, I am weak....

This parking garage close to the ballfield has a cool, gentle breeze coming out of the lowest level. Ahh.

A milestone. I passed 1400 miles on the hybrid since last August.

A hot afternoon sky over Springfield.

But even with the warm temps, I remember a few months back….

Thanks, ...

... but, no thanks.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I remember

  1. Bill Lambert says:

    You know, I was just thinking the other day, I complain about the heat less and less each year. You’ve just hit upon why that is!

  2. The Accuracy Police says:

    You claim you have gone 1400 miles but your photo CLEARLY shows only 1399.9 miles. This INACCURACY casts a heavy cloud of doubt over everything else you claim.

    R1 – The Accuracy Police

    • rlhoover says:

      “Well, who you gonna believe, me or your own eyes?” –Chico Marx

      • Molehill Mountie says:

        I think it is plain who I, the Peccadillo Patrolman, believe. And it would have been so SIMPLE to just ride another tenth of a mile before taking a picture and bragging. But NOO-OOO-ooo, you had to OVERSTATE the situation and reach for unearned and undocumented glory. Tsk. I say again, TSK! And, since we are citing the Great Americans of Hollywood, I give you Oliver Hardy: “ANOTHER fine mess!!”

        The Molehill Mountie

Leave a Reply

