View from an orchard

In an previous post I made the observation that when our son, Sam, had purchased a Cateye for his bike, he could now quantify his riding experience.

But I , also, find myself in the same boat, along with thousands of other riders all over the planet.  I like to know how far I went or how fast I went while doing so.  Especially the ‘fast’ part….

Perhaps it is mostly a male thing.  I know of other cycling bloggers who post their numbers for all to see, and The Tour de France or other big races, when televised, always show the distance left to go and the separation [if any] in time between a breakaway and the peloton.  But I don’t worry over numbers generated by the Tour, e.g., Stage 7 – 135 miles at 24 mph.  The pro riders’ ability is as far above me as Albert Pujols’ is above a Little League player.

In a way, these publicized numbers from the Tour and from riders out there like me give encouragement.  However, I realize that my experience in life and on the road is different from a cyclist who might have goals like 600 miles a month for a year, or a century ride a month. The goals I set this year are attainable, 3000 miles and do one century ride. But consistent effort is needed. With 1,382 miles [1,618 miles to go!] under my belt, I need to do 9.19 miles/day for the rest of the year to make the 3000.  I must keep riding and I grin when Sam tells me of his current numbers, because I know that the apple does not fall far from the tree.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to View from an orchard

  1. You know, looking at other’s numbers for encouragement and motivation is great, but my biggest motivator is to look at my own numbers. Am I improving over the course of a summer? Can I now do this route faster than I once did?

    You should be a shoe-in to hit those numbers for the year, especially as you start increasing mileage for that century.

    Good luck wih it!

    • rlhoover says:

      You are correct! Some of my numbers will be in Colorado next week. We are going to visit the grandkids and do some trail riding around Colorado Springs. It should be quite a bit cooler there than here!! Have fun on your continued trek up north and see you soon!

Leave a Reply

