I don’t get it

Riding home yesterday in 107 degrees seemed more managable than today’s trip home in 100 degrees.  Maybe it is the humidity.  No cloud cover today means the only shade I got was from trees along the streets.

I have friends that ride early in the morning, but I am not there, yet, and riding in the evening is still too hot for Jan and me.  Temps will need to moderate before we resume the p.m. rides.

No clouds, but a northwest tailwind helped.

With this heat, the garden/grass have been taking a beating.  I don’t remember seeing the grass this brown in a number of years.

We have three sources of water for the garden; rainwater, stored in barrels (now bone dry), city water through the hose, and air conditioning condensation.  You may now call me Cheap, but I can get about five gallons per day by the last method.

Cleaning and changing

The last couple of evenings were spent cleaning/lubricating the chains on the hybrids.  I need to do this more often with the increase in my commuting.  I got some stuff from my LBS, Sunshine Bike Shop, and was pleased with the results.  The chains had not stretched and they ended up cleaner than they had been for a while.

There is something quite satisfying about a clean bike.  I tend to think that I can go faster on a clean bike.

.

.

.

OK,…. let us just say that I tend to think.

While in Colorado, Sam had a ‘snake-bite’ flat on the way home.  He hit some car molding left along side of Woodmen Road.  Evie helped him change out the tube.

For those dear readers who know not what a ‘snake-bite’ flat is, it occurs when the object a rider hits jams the tire up against the rim with such force that the tube fails.  The holes in the tube resemble a snake bite.

More pics from Colorado are on their way.  Stay cool and out of the sun.  Stay safe.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Colorado Springs, Commuting, Cycling, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

