Bike Routes, here and there

Just in time for school, the city put bike lanes on Benton Ave., along Drury University.  I spoke with one of the workmen last Thursday morning and he mentioned the hope that traffic speed would slow down in response to the bike lane additions.

I really don’t know if bike lanes are that much of an improvement to a city’s infrastructure. They can contribute to a false sense of security on the part of the cyclist and are part of a complex problem that does not have any simple solutions.  That problem being:  The coexistence of cars and bikes.  Just Monday morning, on the commute, I saw a cyclist coming toward me on the wrong side of the street.  I asked him what he was doing on ‘this side of the street’, but he was gone (and so was I) before I could hear any possible answer or curse.  Call me a pessimist, but as long as we have drivers who yell and throw things at cyclists, and as long as we have cyclists like my compatriot from this morning, progress will be long and hard.

As I get down off the soapbox, I present a picture of the newly resurfaced FR194 (County Line Road) out toward the SE part of the county.  It was hot that day.  Hot.

We also noticed on a recent drive that FR249 has been resurfaced out east of Strafford, no more chip and seal.  That is going to be a fun ride, hills and all!

I finish with a few pictures from the recent trip to Colorado Springs.  We had gone to America The Beautiful park with Katie and the children.  Along the west side of the park was the Academy Trail and one of many bike/walk bridges that have been built.  The paved trail had a dirt spur that went to a small stream.  Later on, we went up to Palmer Lake and saw the northern reaches of this trail, which was packed dirt and chat once the paving ended.

The Springs have a large bike/hike infrastructure that they having been willing to invest in.  We have our trails here in Springfield, but maybe it is just the greener grass over the fence that I am seeing.

I close with an example of what happens to a bottle of shampoo that was used in the Springs and then brought back down to lower elevations here in the Ozarks.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Colorado Springs, Commuting, Cycling, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

