Lunch views

Lately, I have been riding a bit during the lunch break at work.  For some morbid reason, I wanted to be able to remember riding in the heat after the temps have fallen to the 30s and 40s.  I happen to work in a pull-over, collared shirt and wear khakis and wear leather work shoes.  I bought some Sunlite Trouser clips from a bike shop in Bartlesville, Oklahoma a couple of years ago and they have worked without flaw and kept my pants legs free of chain grease.  My legs get a bit warm in this heat, but I am only out for four or five miles. 

Another hot and sunny noontime ride

The street department of Springfield has been repaving a number of street recently.  On Division between Campbell and Commercial they installed bike lanes.

New bike lanes on Division

East of Campbell, Division has the usual four-lane setup with a center turn-lane.

My lunch time ride takes me north of Commercial and then back south by Washington Park and Sacred Heart Catholic Church.

Looking south on Washington toward Commercial

Going by Washington Park and Sacred Heart Catholic Church

But even with the heat, some folks have managed to keep up their flower gardens.  These blossoms are by St. John’s United Church of Christ, with is close to St. Joseph’s on Campbell.

As I hear, the weathermen have forecast the next week to have highs only in the mid-70s. To which I say, “‘Bout time.”

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

