What I hear

I listen to and participate in interesting conversations at my work place.

This morning, the talk was about the recent lane/striping changes made on nearby streets, especially the transformation from four-lane to two-lane+center-turn-lane+bike-lane that has happened to a section of Division St.

Four lanes on Division

Two drive lanes + bike lanes on Division

I listen to much griping and then make the comment that I am quite happy with what has happened.

More griping.

I know where this is heading and sure enough, here come the complaints regarding cyclists and their behavior.

Some guy has to drive slow because a cyclist is going down the ‘middle of the road.’

‘They need to get on the sidewalks.’

‘Why don’t they pull over?’

I decide not to defend the accused cyclists’ actions, but tell my fellow employees that when I ride, I stay three to four feet away from the curb and any parked car.  I also mention that riding the sidewalks is more dangerous than being on the streets where I have a legal right to be.

I know that I have not convinced, much less converted anyone.  But at least they will hear from this cyclist that we have a legal right to the road.

And on the way home, I see where Boonville has been marked for possible bike lanes.  This photo is taken next to the courthouse [notice the WWII era artillery piece in the background].

I think that the dotted lines on the street are for bike lanes.

I would guess that all these extra bike lanes are due to some sort of Federal regulation.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Commuting, Cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I hear

  1. trythedu says:

    Dealing with bicycles is certainly not a topic covered in driver’s education where I live… as evidenced by daily behavior observed while trying to stay alive on the streets…

Leave a Reply

