Back at it

Written on Wednesday

After taking it easy the past couple of days (just did the commute), Jan and I planned to join the Cox Meyer Center group on their Wednesday night ride out to Rogersville.  But with rain and wet roads, the ride was cancelled.  Not that we missed a workout; I commute and Jan works out at the Center and we did need the rain.  At our home we got more than the ‘official’ 0.38″ that the airport got.

So we ran some errands and took another ‘night off’.

I have good cool/cold weather clothing, so the commute has not been bad the past few days, but I recognize that someday I will need to breakout the face scarf.

Friday

I noticed some construction at the ice rink the other day.  I will have to find out what it is.

Looking west across the ice rink parking lot

Same area, but down the slope to the RR tracks

In the photo above, you can see the MLK bridge and what used to be part of the Jordan Valley Park Trail, now torn up.

The Park itself is still in use these days, and the stream and pool still have water flowing through them. This was a good place to bring the grandchildren for a picnic when they still lived in the area.

I have started wearing leg warmers in the morning.  Sometimes one of them would start to slip down the leg.  This reminded me of the scene from the Marx Brother’s movie Animal Crackers.

"Have you got your garters on?"

No, I do not….

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in bicycle commute, Cycling, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

