Numbers

My wife says that keeping track of how many miles I ride does not make much sense, and therefore, it must be a male thing.

She is probably correct.

Anyway, we rode out to Danforth Cemetery this morning.  The day started with clouds and what looked like rain in the distance.

There was so much trash along Old Wire Road and we have half decided to spend an afternoon cleaning it up.

Some select trees are beginning to turn color.

Red sumac

We had the roads pretty much to ourselves.  South of Division, I saw a few things worth sharing.

This twisted barbed wire caught my eye (but not my pants)

We look for indigo buntings along these fields.  This morning, all we saw was this hawk and a few buzzards.

Looking for lunch

The growing season is fast ending and the local farmers are cutting and baling hay.

A round bale and the material used to wrap it

I told Jan to keep going while I got these pictures.  I would catch up with her on down the road.

After taking this pic, she stopped and waited for me

About this time the sky started to break up and the clouds started dispersing.

A lovely patch of blue after a dull, grey morning

Green fields because of recent rains after a long, dry, summer are a welcome sight.

Looking southwest from Royal Drive

After we got home, we decided to ride over to Bass Pro and look for Jan a warm cold-weather undershirt.  We will be helping with Springbike’s Metric Century next Saturday and she wants to be prepared.

Back to mileage, the ride this morning put me past 2310 (from 2009) up to 2322, the most I have ever done.

View from a knee

Here’e to continuing on.

Stay happy,

About rlhoover

A perspective on life and cycling in the Ozarks. I started serious cycling in 2008, after seeing my wife be on the bike for a few years. We have biked many places and hope to continue. I am no where near being a real good cyclist, but I have fun trying to improve. Who am I kidding? Me? Improve??
This entry was posted in Cycling, road cycling, springfield missouri and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Numbers

  1. Jim says:

    You may never be able to cash the miles in for money or anything like that, but it is kind of cool to know you have ridden almost the same distance it would take to ride across the Country. Way to go!

Leave a Reply

